Why I miss teaching but wouldn’t go back

.

If you know me, you will understand the paradox,

Below are the the three P’s of my Experience

THE PEOPLE, THE PROCESS, THE PLACE

The expectation and fear on their faces…..

The questions and ‘fiesty’ on their tongues…….

The discovery and challenge in their words……

The conversations, debates, laughter and grapevine…………….

Loved the tension and heated meetings……………

Hated the workshops, semi-annual conferences, and college functions………………..

Appreciated the real-life experiences, being on the other side of learning,

Understood the disparity, cant get the divergence

The creation of objectives, the choice of methods and the development of strategies……..

The time allocation, the integration, execution………….

The reflection and introspection, developing structure and coherency ……………….

Hated invigilation, loved assessment………………….

The thinking on your feet, the vulnerability of not knowing, accepting and saying so…………………

Taking responsibility, making the call, dealing with people in a different form.

Admitting to mistakes, asking for help and apologizing…..

I do miss, miss, miss the frequent and long holidays

Wanted the work-life balance too

Hated the lunch, loved the lunch room

Loved my cubicle and my corner, loved the most that bathroom corridor

Loved the topography, only now appreciate the walking

Loved the view, the architecture and my daily commute

Miss, miss, miss my HOD, my friends and the camaraderie

LESSONS TO BE LEARNT FROM IT ALL

  • to be patient,
  • to listen,
  • to be tolerant,
  • I am secondary in your story,
  • Don’t take yourself so seriously, you are not that important
  • How to be grateful
  • The ways of fear and the power of love
  • I can forgive when I forget and even when I don’t forget
  • To be vulnerable
  • Experience is more powerful than certification (my view)
  • I have more power than I know
  • How to be humble
  • I can show up even though I am afraid
  • Don’t judge, its not as easy as you think, and there is more to it than you know
  • Cherish the Present, the Now
     

     

     

     

Leave a Reply

