New Year Resolutions

I have never been one to make them, and even when I started to, it was ‘falla fasheen’. Then after a week I either didn’t remember what I had resolved or didn’t think it so important anymore. Either way they ended up in the trash can of my life.

But this year, I want it to be different. Maybe because I finally see a need to have a few and may be too because me want two pot head fi knock seh 2016 is behind me. Suffice to say, I am grateful I survived 2016.

1. I want to hear the words at Matthew 25 v 34-40, so I have decided that I cannot continue to live without some real purpose. I need to do way more to fix that aspect of my life. Ā But I know myself, I will have to make a commitment and have someone hold me accountable. If not, I will rationalize away the very good reason I had to do it in the first place.

2. Two things happened on the cusp of 2017, that had me thinking and overthinking. A 60 year old pastor was jailed for rape Ā and carnal abuse and a cousin of mine decided to take matters in his own hands after a break-up. For me both events lead me right back to source, and to quote a friend “it’s wisdom to do what God commands in the first place”. But you see we tend to take the path of least resistance because it’s so difficult to say no, or to ask for forgiveness, or to confront someone, or to speak the truth, exercise self control and not avenge yourself. It’s a constant every day struggle, but it gets easier with practice. One thing I will say and it’s this, whoever you are…….. your worst fear never usually materializes…..stare fear down and you will see how quickly it dissipates.

3. A good friend and relative of mine has made this her 2017 mantra, ‘loving yourself is a rebellious act, in a world that profits from your self-doubt’. This statement is full of merit and is worthy of more than consideration, as we cannot love others without loving self. But then I thought, how do we do this without sliding off the slope of narcissism and selfishness? We live in a selfie culture, remember. I choose to flesh it out this way. If we really meditate on God’s love for us, it will only humble us. First, we are ‘fearfully and wonderfully made’ ‘we are created in his own image’ ‘our bodies are his temple’. Then, God sent his Son to his death for us- we who by no stretch of the imagination, deserve that. Only love could do that. I have long learnt that we need to know who is for us……. God is for us that is for sure. Start with loving God, and then follow up with a photo shoot !!šŸ’•šŸ’•šŸ’•šŸ’•šŸ’•

4. Laughter, I need to have more big belly laughs. Laughs that bring tears, laughs for which you can hardly repeat the words and not laugh, you laugh just by thinking about it, and then everyone around wonders what’s so funny. Laughs that can make you wet your pants, laughs that are infectious, and you can’t help but share it with everyone. Jokes, events, happenings, etc that will make even the cynic laugh, I want more of those in 2017!!!

Leave a Reply

